CleanUp installed msi packages

May 26, 2010 at 7:34 am 3 comments

After following the Beta progam of Civil 3D 2011, I’ve decided to replace Mad River with the final release.
Doing an uninstall of the Civil 3D Beta software, for some good reason I had to break off the long uninstall action. And that’s what I shouldn’t have done:  I could not intall Civil 3D 2011 anymore.

I followed some Twitter tips pointing me to the BeingCivil Blog site and the Autodesk Knowledge Base, how to succesfully uninstall Civil 3D 2011. Here are the links:

Inspite of the in depth explanation on both web site pages, it didn’t solve my problem.

One other Tweet tip lead me to look at the installation log file. An error: 1638, which tells me that it couldn’t remove an installed msi giving the advice to remove a previous release of the software first via Add/Remove Programs . The log didn’t mention exactly what the name of the msi package was. The only thing I knew was that it rolled back as soon as it tries to install the Civil 3D 2011 Language Pack.
But I couldn’t find this msi package in the Add/Remove Programs.

It was Groundhog Day to me, trying to reinstall the software over and over again, at the end it left me with a rollback action uninstalling the software back to start again.
After several attemps removing the software as clean as possible, I’ve decided to fill in a support request at Autodesk subscription web support.

Waiting for an answer of Autodesk web support I’ve decided to do a last attempt: I’ve tried to Google only for the error 1638, which now resulted in a page where I could download a small but nifty tool: the Windows Installer CleanUp tool.

Running this tool will find all the installed msi packages. And that’s more then Add/Remove Programs does. On the other hand msi packages installed with the main package should only be removed when uninstalling the main package and therefor not need to be listed in Add/Remove Programs. In my case it was the Civil 3D Mad River Language Pack which got corrupted doing my break-off action during an uninstall….
With the Windows Installar CleanUp tool I now could easily remove the ‘hard to removed’ or corrupted msi package.
After this was done, I finally could install Civil 3D 2011 without any problems.

Here’s the link for description and download of the Windows Installer CleanUp tool:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/290301

Entry filed under: AutoCAD Civil 3D, AutoCAD General, Tips & Tricks.

Get those Earthwork Volumes of a layout Pipe Network When to use the Layer & Spatial Index

3 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

iPinda Tweets


